The General Elections 2020 held today to elect members to Sri Lanka’s 09th Parliament has successfully concluded.

The election was reportedly largely peaceful with voting commencing at 07.00 a.m. and concluding at 05.00 p.m.

Voting took place at 12, 985 polling centres islandwide with 16,263,885 voters eligible to cast their ballots.

Election Commission Chairman Mahinda Deshapriya told NewsWire that all Island voter turnout had exceeded 70%.

Police have arrested 520 individuals for violating election laws.

The National Election Commission will commence the counting of votes tomorrow (06).

Here are 09 key facts on the counting of votes for the General Elections 2020.

  1. Counting of ballots to commence on Thursday, 06 August.

  2. Counting to commence at 07.00 a.m. and at 08.00 a.m.

  3. Counting of votes to take place in 77 counting centres.

  4. The first result of the General Election to be released by tea time on Thursday, 06 August.

  5. The final result of the election to be released by midnight on Thursday, 06 August.

  6. Preferential results to be released by midnight on Friday, 07 August.

  7. All results to be Gazetted by Saturday, 08 August.

  8. Gazette on national lists to be submitted by Sunday, 09 August.

  9. All Gazettes pertaining to the General Elections 2020 to be gazetted by Monday, 10 August. (Newswire)

The post General Elections 2020: 09 key facts on vote counting appeared first on NewsWire.